Skip to content
Guest Thinkers

2009 Edublog Awards: My thoughts on ‘lifetime achievement’

I’ve been nominated for a few Edublog Awards this year, including Best Individual Blog, Lifetime Achievement, and Best Leadership Blog (a nonexistent category!). I’m flattered that some folks think I’m worthy of nomination and am appreciative of their support of my writing.

I should be WAY down the list when it comes to any kind of lifetime achievement award. The category is only in its second year of existence; David Warlick won last year. I can think of a number of different folks that have come before me and are much more deserving. Below is a partial list that is 1) in no particular order, and 2) by no means exclusive of others that I’m forgetting at this moment. All of these folks have influenced my thinking and writing and many were very kind to me when I was getting started.

  • Will Richardson
  • Wes Fryer
  • Stephen Downes
  • Karl Fisch
  • Miguel Guhlin
  • Doug Johnson
  • Vicki Davis
  • Christopher Sessums
  • Dean Shareski
  • Jeff Utecht
  • Steve Dembo
  • George Siemens
  • Ewan McIntosh
  • Bud Hunt
  • David Jakes
  • Tom Hoffman
  • Darren Kuropatwa
  • Judy O’Connell
  • Alan Levine
  • Pete Reilly
  • and so on…
  • I only have been blogging for about 3 years now. Maybe in another decade or two – if I’m still at this and the folks above all have been selected – I’ll feel like it might be my turn. Until then, I hope you’ll consider throwing your support behind one of these others (if they get selected for the final ballot).

    Nominations close December 8 if you’re interested in recognizing the blogging contributions of others. Voting ends December 16 and the awards are announced December 18. Keep writing and learning, everyone!


    Up Next